Time slipped away from me again this week, just like I mentioned in my update last week. It happens to all of us.

There is one thing that bewilders me at the moment. There are two elderly ladies living in the flat where I current reside. They are lovely people, they even cooked me dinner during a power-cut when I first moved in. What bewilders me is they have this frustrating clock, presumably a grandfather clock, which insists on chiming every 30 minutes. When it lands on the hour, it can sound up to 12 times, depending on which hour it is. That’s a total of 178 chimes a day.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve found that the older I get, the faster time flies. Not only when I am busy, even when I find time to unwind, hours pass more swiftly than a seagull diving for fish. So when I do have some free time to relax (if I’m not already writing), I really have no interest in what the time is, yet I’m forced to know the time. It baffles me that an elderly pair would opt to have a clock that chimes every half-hour, when to me it seems like I hear it every five minutes.

What are your feelings on clock-watching during down time?